I went for a walk with my daughter Patricia. We set of from Appletreewick at the top of the village,up a small lane and after a few yards we turned right across the fields, where there are some of the most fascinating Stiles, one of the stiles is only just wide enough to allow one to squeeze through, and I wondered how the lambs were prevented from going through although the Ewes wouldn’t be able to get through.

Stile Appletreewick

Stile Appletreewick

After going through this Stile we went through a few  fields and Stiles the meadows  were full of Buttercups and looked lovely, a few years ago we wouldn’t have seen this scene as a lot of the farmers used weed killers which killed  all broad leave plants but did not kill the grasses but we have now to thank the farmers for looking after the country side helped by certain subsides.

Buttercups in May

Buttercups in May

As we continued across the fields the farmer started rounding up his cows ready for the afternoon milking, it was a grand scene to watch,  because the farmer was at  the top of the hill 0n his Quad bike and he sent his Collie to fetch the cows from I should say about a  quarter of a mile away, the dog did very well it quietly took the cows to-wards the farmer, but unfortunately it had missed one which was down near the Brook,any way the farmer sent it  back to fetch the stray cow. The collie raced down the hill and quietly and persistently took the cow back to the rest of the herd up on the hill

Rounding up the Herd

Rounding up the Herd

Watching the farmer and his dog round up the cows really made my day, because it brought back happy memories  of when I used to work with cattle and used to train dogs to work with cows, which can be more difficult to turn than sheep

As I stood there with my daughter it  took me back to my youth when in these same fields the hay was made by hand and was swept up to the barns where it  was forked into the out barns (which are still there to-day) these out barns would perhaps have  standings for perhaps halve a dozen milk cattle where the cows would be milked and the milk carried in what was called a Back can back to the village. I hope that you enjoy my reminiscing as-much as I have.

